What I did on my vacation

My wife and I drove my little red car 4,476 miles, slept in 13 different hotels, visited 6 National Parks, and stopped at numerous monuments, dams, historical sites and various roadside attractions. And along the way snapped 448 photographs. Many of which look like this; 

 
 
 
And some looked like this;

 
 
 

But, being a gardener, my long suffering wife had to put up with me taking lots of photos like this;

 This being a photo of a Prickly Pear cactus with pink fruit on it. That’s Opuntia phaeacantha for those who want to know. There is another species; Opuntia polycantha that is smaller and has less edible pads. Frankly, I can’t tell the difference. The Native Americans ate the pads and the fruit, after removing the spines and then used the spines for sewing needles.

 

 

Or this, a Utah Juniper, Juniperas osteosperma, flower.  This one stopped me in my tracks, I’ve never seen a juniper flower with such marvelous feathery structures. My wife had to litterally drag me away from this plant.
 
 

 
 
 
 
I’ll close with a photo of a mystery plant. I truly do not know what this is, a fungus growth on a Utah Juniper is my best guess. Whatever it is it’s really creepy. This was found at Mesa Verde National Park.

One response to this post.

  1. ..nice to know that ther is hank delison

    Reply

Leave a Reply

